Guest Reviews

A selection of our latest reviews:

December 2017

“Adyllic house in paradise”. We stayed here over Christmas and New Year, and had a fantastic time. The villa is a secluded retreat, yet close to towns and beaches. The pool and surrounding areas are the absolute highlight. The on-site staff are very helpful, keep their distance, and the food they cook is better than any restaurant in town. The house is a great size, enough for a large group to have their own space yet come together in the main spaces. We had an issue with cockroaches in one of the bedrooms on a nightly basis – we understand this is a price of tropics – but the on-site staff did their best to help us. Overall this place is wonderful, and offers the perfect place to stay whilst in a fantastic country.

2018

January 2018

Five days in Paradise. We picked The Retreat as a place to stay for some rest and relaxation after a fairly hectic 12 day tour of Sri Lanka and what an excellent choice we made. The villa is wonderful and has everything that you need for a great stay. The pool and gardens are beautiful and very well kept – an ideal place to relax and unwind and inside the villa is well decorated and has great amenities. We spent our days swimming in the pool, relaxing on the sun loungers, playing table tennis, reading books on the first floor balcony, taking a boat trip around the lagoon and in the evening watching DVD’s and listening to music. However what made our stay extra special were the wonderful Preme and Sunitha. Preme looks after the grounds and the swimming pool and will take you out in the boat if you want, whilst Sunitha is available to cook for you if you wish. When we arrived we were not sure what to do about meals, but after the first nights chicken curry we quickly made plans to enjoy Sunitha’s fantastic cooking for the whole five days. My husband has even taken a note of some of her recipes to try at home. They are a wonderful couple and we really enjoyed meeting them. The Retreat is about a 10 minute tuk tuk ride from Hikkaduwa and the villas drivers are available to take you out if you wish. We took a ride into Galle to explore for half a day which was very enjoyable. In a nutshell we felt that we were in a little piece of paradise for five days – it was wonderful experience.

January 2018

“Absolute paradise with all the home comforts” .I have friends who have stayed at The Retreat and I had high expectations based on their experiences but nothing could prepare me for the most wonderful two weeks I have just had. I was travelling with my partner, my sister and her partner and 2 friends who stay at The Retreat every year. From the moment we arrived in Colombo and were met at the airport by Channa from Hikkasurf, to arriving at the villa and meeting Prem and Sunitha, to meeting the “tuk tuk boys” and being transported wherever we wished, I felt like a “princess”. Nothing is too much trouble and to say we had 5 star service is not doing it justice.
Arriving at the villa I was in awe of how gorgeous it actually is – a spacious open plan lounge/dining area with tasteful cultural decor, a kitchen with everything you could need if you want to cook – a tv with DVD player and a large selection of DVDs, a selection of books to read and there is even a table tennis table!. Upstairs the 3 double bedrooms with ensuite facilities are all beautiful with excellent storage and air conditioning and all lead onto a joint veranda overlooking a beautiful swimming pool. Waking up every morning, opening the doors, listening to the wildlife, no traffic noise, looking out on nothing but beautiful trees, the lagoon and the pool can’t be beaten.
The beauty of this villa is the versatility; you could use the villa as a base and visit the sights – the Hikkasurf team will provide whatever transport you need whether it be a tuk tuk, a car or a minibus and can arrange any sightseeing tour with that personal touch…they care and it shows…. or you could spend your whole holiday in the villa with Sunitha cooking for you (she is a wonderful cook). Hikkaduwa is a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away where the restaurants serve the most tasty local cuisine which is very reasonably priced. There are bars on the beach serving very tasty cocktails and a lively nightlife into the early hours. There are shops galore selling everything from clothes to spices-wooden crafts to jewellery.
Having a beautiful villa in paradise with such an attentive team cannot be described in a review…. you must experience it

March 2018

“What a fantastic holiday!!!”What can I say but the Retreat is amazing! A very lovely house with amazing caretakers in Sunnita and Preme who worked so hard to make our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. The house is spacious, beautifully finished (which is amazing given the located on a narrow lane) and very well equipped.

Preme took us out in the boat across the lake to see the wildlife in the jungle! He also had a fishing rod and my husband and son really enjoyed fishing in the mornings and evenings – they even managed to catch some fish while spotting herons, fish eagles and kingfishers! The local fishermen even went past and gave them some bait!

The pool was the best we have ever had an opportunity to use, deep enough for some diving and long enough to get some exercise, but also cool and relaxing!

We also went on some amazing trips including a brilliant safari in the national park, along with a trip to an elephant orphanage also in the park, then up to the highlands for a train ride at the top of the world. This was followed by tea plantation visits and rafting!

We also went whale watching and saw so many whales we lost count. Local dolphins played in the bow wave as returned to port!

All in all a brilliant family holiday!

July 2018

An amazing villa in paradise

We stayed at The Retreat for a 2 week family holiday with our 2 boys aged 7 and 12. The villa was everything we’d hoped it would be and Sunitha and Preme looked after us so well. Sunitha took us to the local market and shops when we first arrived and prepared beautiful meals for us each day, firm favourites from our boys were the breakfast pancakes and string hoppers. Preme took the boys out on the Lagoon where they saw monkeys, lizards and birds. He was always on hand to take the boys wildlife hunting in the garden too. They were both great with our youngest son and really did help make his holiday extra special – he would have happily stayed forever especially if Sunitha continued to supply freshly made nutella pancakes! The palm squirrels running and playing around the garden are great fun to watch from the comfort of the pool side loungers and lots of other amazing wildlife come and go throughout the day. The drivers recommended for the villa were waiting for us at the airport and were fantastic throughout our stay. The trips we took were made all the more special because we had them along with us and they guided us to the best places and areas, making sure we had amazing experiences each time we were out. They even took us to their own garden to see monkeys playing in the trees. The WiFi access at the villa was a little hit and miss after a monkey pulled the wire down towards the end of the first week, it just never seemed to fully recover after that, a hazard of living in the jungle but the pool and wildlife kept the boys amused throughout the days when we weren’t out and about and the boys were thoroughly impressed we had monkey visitors. We visited during the low season so a number of the cafes and restaurants nearby were closed but we found a few beach side places open and Sanji and team were great at giving recommendations. We cant thank everyone at The Retreat enough for ensuring we had an amazing family holiday, it was filled to the brim with memories we’ll never forget. We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this villa to anyone, you are guaranteed to have an amazing holiday in this little piece of paradise.

August 2018

“Perfect stay, in beautiful villa and location”The villa is superb with everything you could want on a holiday, beautiful tranquil pool and very friendly and accommodating stay who go out of there way to help you, the location and setting is also pretty special! We will visit again!

August 2018

Wonderful. Our family of 5 people recently returned from the most wonderful 2 week holiday at The Retreat in Sri Lanka at the end of August/ early September. I wasn’t sure how the weather would be but it was great and only rained for two nights. The accommodation was a beautiful well kept home and pool set in a glorious garden with all the birds, butterflies, flowers, monkeys, chipmunks you could wish to see. It was a true tropical paradise. Suneetha looked after us SO well and cooked the most delicious Sri Lankan food ever ( breakfast and dinner) and Prem happily showed us all the wildlife and even supplied us with the odd coconut or three. They both looked after us so well, as did the Hikkasurf guys, we simply didn’t want to leave. We managed to pack in as much sight seeing as we could from where we were situated (even to Kandy) but there is still so much to see in Sri Lanka, I can’t wait to plan a return visit. A big big thank you to Suneetha and Prem. Hope to see you again.

October 2018

The Retreat is a little slice of heaven. We stayed for a week and were sad to leave. Prem and Suneetha were awesome as were the guys driving us around. Suneetha’s cooking was incredible and nothing was too much trouble. The organisation through Philippa was so easy and hassle free. I can’t recommend this place enough. It’s every bit as good as the photos and the staff are excellent. We loved it and hope we can return one day. Thank you everyone at The Retreat.

October 2018

“A little slice of heaven”

The Retreat is a little slice of heaven. We were there for a week and it was so relaxing, beautiful and tranquil. We were sad to leave. Prem and Suneetha were incredible, quietly looking after our every need. The guys who were driving us around were great, taking us on day trips or just dropping us to our friend’s villa, nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this place and hope to go again some day.

October 2018

The best villa we have stayed in. Spacious, clean and wonderfully looked after.

The villa was amazing. Spacious and furnished to a high standard. Lots of small touches, including the art work and carvings,which gave the villa a wonderful feel of being looked after. The villa is quiet and relaxing and is set in stunning surroundings. We were looked after from start to finish, from booking to airport transfers. Everything went to plan and ran smoothly. We were extended a warm welcome from Prem, Sunitha and the Hikkasurf team. Prem and Sunitha are a lovely couple, always on hand to help with questions and advice. Sunitha’s curries are not to be missed and Prem is very knowledgeable about the wildlife.They tend to the villa, pool and grounds with care and attention. We loved getting out and about in the Tuk Tuks and seeing the sites. Two weeks was not enough and we are looking forward to coming back. Definitely a five star villa with a five star team. Thank you to all who made our holiday special.

November 2018

We had a lovely stay The Blue Lagoon Retreat. Communication with Philippa was excellent and Sunitha and Prem were very welcoming and took care of us perfectly. They are a lovely couple, patient and considerate.

2019

January 2019

Dont look any further!!! Finally getting to review our stay at the Blue Lagoon in December for 2 weeks. I cannot say enough positive things about our stay, its more or less copying what prior visitors have experienced. Prem and Suneetha are the 2 most lovely people you can encounter, their dedication and just all around positive vibe was beutifull! We had breakfast and dinner fixed with Suneetha and it will be the best food you eat in Sri Lanka, period:) The guys from Hikkasurf were literally a phone call away, within 10-15 minutes Channa, Upul or his father were honking at the gates. I used them for further out excursions to Mirissa and Udawalawe national park and also just locally to the beaches in Hikkaduwa, Narigama (beutifull waves) and Unuwatuna beach. Leaving this oasis was hard, but knowing that this will not be my last visit made it a little bit easier!!

February 2019

Peaceful and tranquil location with excellent staff on site.

A beautifully appointed villa in a lovely tranquil location. The on site Husband and Wife Team of Prem and Sunitha were exceptional, attentive but not intrusive.

March 2019

We have recently returned from a fantastic 2 week stay at The Retreat. The house is beautiful with everything you could possibly wish for in the most idyllic location on the shore of the lake. The pool is really large and warm and there are plenty of different spaces in the garden to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility yet the house is only 10 minutes by tut tut from Hikkaduwa beach where you can enjoy the indian ocean and the many beach cafes and restaurants.

We chose the option of being totally looked after the amazing Sunitha and Prem who prepared our breakfasts and evening meals on most days as well as doing all our laundry – we felt like royalty. You may think that having people to do these things would seem intrusive, but that is not the case at all – they both respected our privacy and are did things in the background to make sure that our stay was just perfect.

We also used the Hikkasurf Team for all our transport requirements and they were truly amazing.

We do hope to return again one day – but until then THANK YOU so much for a truly superb holiday.

March 2019

The location was amazing – on a secluded lake with amazing birds and small animals living in a garden paradise. The pool was continually used for long periods followed by drying off in the sun.
Transport was available with a great team with either tuktuc , car or van as per the particular requirement.
Food cooked by our local host was just amazing and catered for our varied groups requirements 100%.

May 2019

Another wonderful holiday at The Retreat, we had to return after visiting last year.
Looked after and spoilt by lovely Preme and Sunitha. Sunitha’s cooking as amazing (if not better) than we remember, and felt completely safe with Preme always around. They are such a lovely, attentive couple and always on hand but not at all intrusive.
Hikkaduwa is just a short tuk tuk ride away and Channa and the team from Hikkasurf were as always on hand to get us everywhere safely and quickly.
Liked exploring around the property, locals are lovely and love to stop for a chat.
Very easy to book and Phillipa was always quick to reply.
Look forward to booking again soon.

August 2019

A lovely villa set in a very peaceful location, perfect for getting away from it all. The garden is one of the most beautiful and well kept you’ll find in Sri Lanka. It was so lovely to see flowers in August. The pool is also fantastic. Sunitha and Preme were fantastic at looking after us and helping with tuk tuks, shopping etc. The only downside was we hadn’t realised July/August is the low season for Hikkaduwa and so a lot of places were closed. We would definitely advise asking Sunitha to cook for you the first night and then ask the tuktuk drivers for recommendations of local cafes etc.

October 2019

Exceptionally beautiful house in a fantastic location. This house was one of the most beautiful holiday homes we ever had! Spacious, tastefully decorated an well equipped house, great location right on the lagoon, large pool and a nice garden – everything you need for a relaxing holiday is there. The house is exceptionally clean. Everything including pool and garden is very well maintained. On site, Suneetha and Prem are wonderful hosts and take care of everything. They give you a warm welcome and are always attentive and helpful. Suneetha is a great cook. Do not go to a restaurant for dinner – ask Suneetha to prepare your meal, let her do the rest and enjoy your dinner at home! We can also fully recommend the service of the drivers Upul, Sanji and Channa. They know the area well, have fair prices, their vehicles are in very good condition and all three are careful drivers. If you are looking for an exceptionally beautiful house in the Hikkaduwa area, then this is the place for you. The next time in Sri Lanka we will definitely return to this house.

October 2019

Just great. This is the second time that we went to Sri Lanka and it was obvious that we would go back to the Retreat. We spent two fabulous weeks there in a wonderful environment. The house is just perfect (even better than on pictures), nothing to add to that. Sunitha prepared delicious meals and Preme was always available to assist. Sanjee did a great job in taking us out to discover new places and was always caring to ensure that all went well for us. It was just a small piece of paradise and we will for sure come back again and again. Thanks for making these holidays unforgettable for our family !!!

January 2020

The Retreat is a sanctuary set on the magical blue lagoon. It is so peaceful and quiet there – it was the perfect getaway for a group of friends. Sunitha and Prem are amazing house keepers who look after the property with such care and love. We hope to come stay with you again soon!”

Christmas 2019

This place is fantastic, the whole setting is paradise and Prem and Sunitha are just wonderful. We couldn’t have dreamed it would be so great. Worth every penny. The locals are fantastic and Sanjay and his team of tuk tuk drivers make sure everyone is delivered place to place safe and sound. A 5 holiday.😁

 

 

Read more reviews on Trip Advisor, Airbnb and HomeAway.